tagb team

I am the Chairman of the TAGB and it has been a great pleasure and privilege to have served the TAGB in this position for the past 33 years.

Click to Enlarge +

The TAGB was formed in 1983 and it still retains it’s original founder members – Dave Oliver, Mike Dew, Ron Sergiew, Don Atkins, Gianni Peros, Kenny Walton, Paul Donnely and Brian Towndrow.
It was one of the first to form away from the UKTA and most of the clubs from Oxfordshire, Midlands, North of England and Wales decided to move from the UKTA and join the TAGB. This included the current European and world ITF champions.

At the TAGB we provided more for both instructors and competitors than the UKTA. We offered a more professional service to instructors including certificates, uniforms and equipment.

Grading results were processed faster and we allocated a central black belt venue. We also started competing in open martial arts tournaments which gave our members a much wider experience.

In 1988, the TAGB helped found the British TaeKwonDo Council (BTC) which is the only governing body of TaeKwonDo to be recognised by the Sports Council. The BTC is made up of 14 different associations with a membership of 50000.

I am honoured to have been elected Chairman of the BTC.